Some Sneak Peak Photo’s of Work in Progress!

View from Below

2 responses

  1. Gary Johnson

    Guys terrific work! I am in the process of building my Brutus 10 and I know how hard it is to design, plan, cut and weld stainless. I saw on the AHA site you were asking about plumbing your propane line. I am using NG but in my project the one bottom stretcher is a sealed gas manifold like Lonnie did. My gas fittings are welded to this. The hard part was the pressure test and to fix all the pin hole leaks at the weld lines. I would think that you could use tube or pipe of whatever steel you are using and create a gas manifold and weld the fittings to connect anywhere in the sculpture you need them. Standard 1/2″ pipe fittings would do. You look like you are making some great welds. Best of luck to you! Gary

    June 8, 2010 at 12:28 pm

    • Mark Zap

      Gary,
      Thanks very much for all the input! I am the “Brewer” in this project so I’m not doing the welding, that is my partner Scott’s expertise. I usually do more grunt work like cutting and sanding so that Scott can actually make art!
      The project is coming along nicely but yea any input for the gas hookup is greatly appreciated… We assumed we would do something like that but do you think that copper could be used for propane lines? If not, we were thinking maybe putting it together via a brass fitting network or maybe just black pipe…
      What do you think?

      June 8, 2010 at 5:14 pm

Leave a Reply

